Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

The Research Design and Conduct Service (RDCS) South East Wales based in the Centre for Trials Research at Cardiff University is funded by Welsh Government through Health and Care Research Wales. The RDCS supports NHS and social care professionals to develop high quality research funding proposals.


The service is hosted by the South East Wales Trials Unit (SEWTU) based at Cardiff University with specific support relating to health economics provided in conjunction with the Health Economics & Policy Research Unit (HEPRU) based at the University of South Wales.

Our partner organisations are Cardiff and Vale University HB, Cwm Taf UHB, Aneurin Bevan UHB, Velindre and Public Health Wales.


The aims of the service are:

  • to support the development of a research and evaluation culture within partner organisations
  • to support the development of a research methods training strategy for partner organisations
  • to provide links to experienced researchers for partner organisations

How Will We Achieve Our Aims?

A focussed approach based on partnership between organisations and a clear strategy for priority areas will be implemented, as well as generic support. At a practical level, much of this partnership will be achieved via joint working with R&D offices within each partner organisation.

The promotion of mentoring through the creation of research ‘champions’ from within the HBs will also be encouraged to disseminate good practice and maximise the impact of the resources available to the service.

Other methods, including training strategies, brokerage events, on-site consultancy and guidance documents (in the form of standard operating procedures) will also be employed in achieving the stated aims of the service.

Individual approaches from researchers should be made, in the first instance, via their respective HBs' Research & Development Offices (please see our RDCS Resources webpage for contact details).

RDCS South East is part of the All Wales Research Design and Conduct Service that operates through three trials units across Wales. Our sister organisations are: